top of page

Skinny DOES NOT Define Beauty

I want to ask one simple question. A question that maybe you can answer because lately I've been unable to find meaning to it. That question is:


Who out there discovered that it's a provable fact that the term "skinny" defines beauty in all it's glory? Who said that unless you're a size one with a jawline like God, you're not pretty enough? Worthy enough? Confident enough? Sexy enough?


Society?



I know that in certain parts of the world bigger is considered better and even in certain time periods bigger women were viewed as more beautiful. So is it just the time period we’re living in? Or is it American culture that made us believe that we have to look a certain way in order to make it in this world?


Yesterday I was zooming through the mall, making my way to get my fix of caffeine for the day. On my way there I passed poster after poster of beautiful women of all ethnicities. Black women. White women. Spanish women. Asian women.


For a moment, I started thinking, ‘Okay modeling world, being all diverse and what not. Good for you.’ But after a moment of continuously seeing these girls in every window, I started thinking, ‘Are they, are they really, though?’


Don’t get me wrong, it’s a HUGE ACCOMPLISHMENT having women of color represented in the fashion world. But as I kept seeing these girls, something clicked in my head.


THEY'RE ALL THE SIZE OF MY PINKY...


And I’m a little person so that’s saying a lot.


I then started thinking about the fact that maybe that’s why girls (and boys) get so self-conscious going clothes shopping. They’re constantly having to see these people of unrealistic expectations modeling the same clothes that they’re about to try on, creating comparison issues.


Who in the world came up with the idea, “skinny sells”?


There are so many plus-sized, short, disabled, and other adjectives that go against societies standards of beauty who are gorgeous and would rock the fashion world.


Jillian Mercado is a disabled model with a following of 137k on Instagram. She recently shot with famous social media star, Cameron Dallas and is KILLING the modeling game, breaking down barriers for the future of disability being represented in mass media. She is gorgeous and I for one would feel more confident trying on clothes if I saw someone like her, someone who is like me, being represented in mainstream clothing stores.


Why is this not happening? Why aren’t we going into stores and seeing people who are real, people who are more like us? Something needs to change.


Skinny DOES NOT define beauty.

 

I'd Love to Hear from You!


If you have any questions, comments, or just want to chit-chat, let's do it!

You can find me in the comment section down below or follow me on any of my socials and I'll get back to you ASAP. Make sure to follow this page to keep up to date on my latest posts.

Can't wait to hear from you!

Instagram: Itsjusttiana

Twitter: @itsjusttiana1

Pinterest: Itsjusttianablogs

Facebook: blogsbyt

Writing and getting to connect with people on a special level is something that I love to do. Nothing in this world beats being able to be your true, authentic self and have someone not only appreciate, but be able to relate to it in one way or another. It is my absolute dream, no, my goal to be able to do this as a career one day. Until then, if you'd like, you don't have to though (trust me, I know the struggle), you can visit the link by clicking here and donate to my blog. By doing this, you're helping me be able to one day stop doing freelance and be able to solely focus on my blog. Either way, thank you for stopping by and checking out what I have to say. I really appreciate it.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Anxiety

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page